Alum Marina Bers selected as a 2022 AERA Fellow

Alum Marina U. Bers, a professor at Tufts University who earned her PhD as a member of the Media Lab's Epistemology and Learning group in 2001, has been named as one of the 2022 AERA Fellows by the American Educational Research Association (AERA). 

The AERA Fellows Program honors education researchers for their exceptional contributions to, and excellence in, education research. Nominated by their peers, the 2022 Fellows were selected by the Fellows Committee and approved by the AERA Council, the association’s elected governing body. They will be inducted during a ceremony at the 2022 Annual Meeting in San Diego on April 22. They join 696 total AERA Fellows.

“We are thrilled to honor the 2022 AERA Fellows for their exceptional scholarship and significant contributions to the field,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “AERA Fellows demonstrate the highest standards of excellence. We welcome the class of 2022 to these prestigious ranks.”


Courtesy of Marina Bers

The 2022 AERA Fellows are:                 

  • Marina U. Bers, Tufts University
  • Mimi Bong, Korea University
  • Curtis J. Bonk, Indiana University
  • Gloria Swindler Boutte, University of South Carolina
  • Ivar Braten, University of Oslo
  • John B. Diamond, Brown University
  • Drew H. Gitomer, Rutgers University
  • M. Gail Jones, North Carolina State University
  • Francesca Lopez, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Jerome E. Morris, University of Missouri-St. Louis
  • Anne-Marie Núñez, The Ohio State University
  • Lily Orland-Barak, The University of Haifa
  • Lori Patton Davis, The Ohio State University
  • Olle ten Cate, University Medical Center Utrecht
  • Brendesha M. Tynes, University of Southern California
  • Erica N. Walker, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Helen Margaret Gilchrist Watt, The University of Sydney
  • Eboni M. Zamani-Gallaher, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Related Content