MIT community members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2023


National Academy of Engineering

National Academy of Engineering

via MIT News

Feb. 14, 2023

By Mary Beth Gallagher | School of Engineering

Seven MIT researchers are among the 106 new members and 18 international members elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) this week. Fourteen additional MIT alumni, including one member of the MIT Corporation, were also elected as new members.

One of the highest professional distinctions for engineers, membership to the NAE is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."


MIT News

Congratulations to the newly elected members of the National Academy of Engineering, including Media Arts and Sciences Professor Neil Gershenfeld!

MIT faculty members elected to the National Academy of Engineering pictured above, clockwise from top left: Regina Barzilay, Markus Buehler, Elfatih Eltahir, Neil Gershenfeld, David Simchi-Levi, David Miller, and Roger Kamm.