Ed Boyden elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Ed Boyden has been elected as one of the 100 new members of the National Academy of Sciences, which also named named 25 new foreign associates (non-voting members). 

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress that was signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community. Nearly 500 members of the NAS have won Nobel Prizes, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, founded in 1914, is today one of the premier international journals publishing the results of original research.

Other new members from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology include Paula Hammond (David H. Koch (1962) Professor of Engineering and head of the department of chemical engineering) and Aviv Regev (professor, department of biology, and chair of the faculty and core member of The Broad Institute). 

Congratulations to all!

Read the press release.

Related Content