Jack Forman and Fangzheng Liu receive 2022 OGE Fellowships


MIT Media Lab /Jack Forman/Fangzheng Liu

MIT Media Lab /Jack Forman/Fangzheng Liu

Congratulations to all of the recipients of this year's competitive fellowships administered by the MIT Office of Graduate Education (OGE), including Media Lab students Jack Forman and Fangzheng Liu! 

Jack Forman: William Asbjornsen Albert Memorial Fellowship


Guanyun Wang

Jack Forman, a PhD student in the Tangible Media research group, has been awarded MIT's William Asbjornsen Albert Memorial Fellowship.  This competitive fellowship is awarded to one graduate student at MIT conducting research in the field of science and engineering who has demonstrated both excellent academic prowess and involvement in the greater MIT community.

Forman's vision is to make tangible artifacts embedded seamlessly with responsive behavior, through the development of programmable materials and ways to fabricate them, to make engaging human-material interfaces that utilize the emotional power of touch. Forman sees a future where these adaptive interfaces are ubiquitous, where every material is able to accept and respond to the change that is constantly flowing through us.

Forman's research and community service have previously been recognized with the 2021 MIT RISE LBGTQ+ Pride Award, Fast Company Innovation by Design Awards in 2020 and 2021, 2021 A'Design Awards, and 2021 Core77 Design Awards. 

Fangzheng Liu: Angela Leong Fellowship

Fangzheng Liu, a PhD student in the Responsive Environments group, has been awarded the Angela Leong Fellowship, a competitive fellowship available to students from Macau, Hong Kong, and Mainland China who have demonstrated both academic and research prowess and involvement in the community. 

Liu is a maker, engineer, and aspiring astronaut who loves painting, basketball, and hiking. A former engineer at CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research), Liu worked on the AMS-02 (Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer), a state-of-the-art particle physics detector operating on the International Space Station (ISS), and led by Nobel laureate Prof. Samuel C. C. Ting. 

Related Content