Event

EVDT Community Meeting - April 2024

Copyright

Rio de Janeiro

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Wednesday
April 10, 2024
10:00am — 11:00am ET

We invite you to join the fourth spring meeting of the Environment-Vulnerability-Decision-Technology (EVDT) Community. The purpose of the EVDT Community meetings is to share research approaches led by the Space Enabled Research Group and our collaborators that combine insights into social, environmental and policy challenges that can be addressed with geospatial information systems. Learn more about the EVDT Framework here; and read publications from past EVDT projects here.

The meeting will take place on Wednesday, April 10th from 10:00am to 11:00am ET.  Join the Zoom link hereIf you missed the previous meeting, you can find the recording here.

Here is the time-zone information for various locations:  Mexico City - 9:00 am to 10:00 am; Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm; Santiago de Chile - 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm; Luanda, Angola - 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm; Benin - 4 pm to 5 pm; Ghana - 3 pm to 4 pm; Jakarta, Indonesia - 10:00 pm to 11:00 pm; Los Angeles, USA - 7:00 am to 8:00 am.

If you are planning to attend the EVDT Meeting on April 10th, please fill out this form in advance.

We are also collecting ideas and volunteers for side events (discussions, longer talks, workshops, teaching sessions, etc.). Want to get feedback and advice on some project idea that you have? Want to learn how to use ArcGIS StoryMaps or Google Earth Engine but don't know who to ask? 

Whether you want to host an event or want to suggest an event for someone else to host, please fill out this form with your ideas! These can be short, 30 minute events or long multi-hour workshops. The format and topics are very open.

Agenda: 

All times are in ET

Introduction | 10:05 AM

Opening remarks from Sharif Islam

Presentation: "Mapping a Better World: The Power of Remote Sensing in Environmental and Social Analysis" | 10:10 AM

Speaker name: Joaquin Salas

Organizational Affiliation: National Polytechnic Institute, Mexico 

Q&A | 10:45 am

Meeting Adjourn | 11:00 am    

More Events