Disobedience Award

MIT Media Lab

Congratulations to Tarana Burke, BethAnn McLaughlin, and Sherry Marts, the winners of the 2018 Disobedience Award!

Leaders of the #MeToo and #MeTooSTEM movements
Tarana Burke
is the founder of the “Me Too” Movement; she has dedicated her life to advocating for those who have experienced sexual trauma or harassment, particularly survivors who are women of color and from low-wealth communities.

BethAnn McLaughlin brought the “Me Too” conversation to STEM institutions, calling on the National Academy of Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science to instate consequences for members found guilty of sexual assault or misconduct.

Sherry Marts is a consultant who helps academic and nonprofit organizations more fair and welcoming, with a particular focus on preventing harassment at conferences and events.

Watch the full 2018 event

Learn about all of the 2018 Disobedience Award winners and finalists

Explore the 2018 event