Ishwarya Ananthabhotla and Jaya Narain among 2020 Apple Scholars in AI/ML


Helen Gao

Helen Gao

Two Media Lab PhD students have been selected as Apple Scholars in AI and machine learning, among the 12 total Scholars in this year's program. Each Scholar was chosen based on their innovative research and demonstrated leadership within their respective fields, as well as their "unique commitment to take risks and push the envelope in machine learning and AI."

Ishwarya Ananthabhotla from the Responsive Environments group has been recognized for her work in AI/ML and speech and natural language, and Jaya Narain from the Fluid Interfaces group has been honored for her work in AI for health and wellness. 

"In recognition of these outstanding PhD students, each will receive support for their research and academic travel for two years, internship opportunities, and a two-year mentorship with an Apple researcher in their field."

Related Content